Filtering with modular contents

GaryHuangGaryHuang Member

Hello, I am new to kentico, and would like to ask a simple question.

For example, now I have 4 content types “Country”, “City”, “Contract”, and “Staff”

(1) “Country” has 2 items : “France”, “Japan”

(2) “City” has a modular content “Country”, 2 items :

• “Paris” (modular content : “France”)
  • “Tokyo” (modular content : “Japan”)

(3) “Contract” has 2 items : “Full Time”, “Part Time”

(4) “Staff” has two modular content “City” and “Contract”, a few items like :

• “Aaron” (modular content : “Paris”, “Full Time”)
  • “David” (modular content : “Paris”, “Part Time”)
  • “Katy” (modular content : “Tokyo”, “Full Time”)

I can only get the full list of “Staff” without filtering as below :
https://deliver.kenticocloud.com/PROJECT_ID/items?system.type=staff&depth=5&limit=5

But, How to filter the “Staff” list for “Full Time” staffs in “France” with the Delivery API ???

Answers

• MichaelKinkaidMichaelKinkaid TorontoMember, MVP MVP

Hey,

The contract field is in the staff model so you can filter with that e.g.

https://deliver.kenticocloud.com/PROJECT_ID/items?system.type=staff&elements.contract[contains]=full_time

Country isn't directly in the staff model however. City is, and the hope is that you can use that relationship to filter. I couldn't work out how to do this either, so hopefully we either get confirmation that is isn't possible with the current model setup, or someone shares their smarts :-).

Some options to consider:

Option 1
    The call we can do will return all the information you need to evaluate it on the client side (see the modular content object in the JSON after the items array). That links cities to countries. You'd have to ask the API for all staff who are full time and then once you had that data filter on the client side.

Option 2